[SC-Help] Re: domain being blocked, but not listed?
Brian Smith
spamcop-help@news.spamcop.net
Thu, 7 Nov 2002 10:32:10 -0600
Merlyn,
The following is the error message that I had the user at ffdcpa.com fax
to me. Thanks again for your help with this.
-----Original Message-----
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem
[mailto:MAILER-DAEMON]
Sent: Wednesday, November 06, 2002 8:30 AM
To: bgarner
Subject: Returned Mail: see transcript for details
The original message was received at Wed, 6 Nov 2002 09:29:38 -0500
from imta01a2.registeredsite.com [64.225.255.10]
*** ATTENTION ***
This email is being returned to you because the remote server would not or
could not accept the message. The registeredsite servers are just reporting
to you what happened and are not the source of the problem.
The address which was undeliverable is in the section labled:
"----- The following addresses had permanant fatal errors -----".
The reason your mail is being returned to you is in the section labeled:
"----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".
The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your e-mail
could not be delivered. The next line containsa second error message which
is a general translation for other e-mail servers.
Please direct further questions regarding this message to your e-mail
administrator.
-- Registeredsite Postmaster
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
ggarner
(reason: 501 5.7.1 <bgarner>...Sender refused by the RBL
BL.spamcop.net)
----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to benton.dsc.k12.ar.us.:
>>> MAIL From:<bgarner> SIZE=742
<<< 501 5.7.1 bgarner Sender refused by the RBL bl.spamcop.net
501 5.6.0 Data format error
Final-Recipient: RFC822; ggarner
Action: failed
Status: 5.7.1
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 501 5.7.1 bgarner Sender refused by the
RBL bl.spamcop.net
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 6 Nov 2002 09:29:40 -0500
test
"Merlyn" <Merlyn> wrote in message
news:aqe050$tg9$1
> "Brian Smith" <brian> wrote in message
> news:aqdup5$sg1$1
> > I am the email administrator for benton.dsc.k12.ar.us. We are using
> > bl.spamcop.net as our rbl list. We have a user from ffdcpa.com trying to
> > email into our system. They have recieved "Returned mail" stating
"Sender
> > refused by the RBL bl.spamcop.net"
> > I have looked this address up with spamcop.net's listing search engine
and
> > it displays that this address "ffdcpa.com" is not listed. What is the
> next
> > step that I should do?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Brian
> >
>
>
> You are right they are not currently listed. But hey were listed listed:
>
> Sun Nov 3 19:27:02 2002 GMT Sunday, November 03, 2002 2:27:02 PM -0500
> delisted: Tue Nov 5 06:56:02 2002 GMT Tuesday, November 05, 2002 1:56:02
> AM -0500
>
> Maybe they are just opening their email and received a message from that
> time period (2 days Ago).
>
> Lets do a search...
>
> ffdcpa.com resolves to 64.227.210.41
> www.ffdcpa.com resolves to 64.227.210.41
> Mail for ffdcpa.com is handled by inbound.registeredsite.com (5)
> 64.224.219.122
>
> Now we will look for 64.224.219.122 in the Spamcop BL.......
>
> 64.224.219.122 Spam Reports None recorded
>
> Now we will look at their entire Network.......
>
> Other hosts in this block with spam reports:
> 64.224.219.89 (28) 64.224.219.91 (30) 64.224.219.92 (26) 64.224.219.93
(26)
> 64.224.219.94 (21) 64.224.219.102 (24) 64.224.219.103 (21) 64.224.219.117
> (18) 64.224.219.118 (18)
>
> More than 4 hosts in network have spam reports, considering network stats.
> Spam count weighted plus 90% for 9 hosts in network spamming = 402;
Network
> spam score 402.00: report ratio (0.020) falls under threshold (0.020)Spam
> score 0.00: spam report ratio (0.000) falls under threshold (0.020)
>
> Looks like they are not listed in the Spamcop BL.
>
> Please post the entire error message received along with the IP number in
> the error message so we can sort it out.
>
> --
>
> Regards,
> Merlyn
>
> An advocate/user of the SCBL.
>
>
>