[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Microsoft Abuse Addresses defy SC parsing ??? (Deputies!!)

David Butler ob1db at spamcop.net
Sun Apr 3 18:33:52 EDT 2005


Was tracking email to report spammy when I got this useless parse:

Parsing input: acefinanceuk-ltd.com
host acefinanceuk-ltd.com (checking ip) = 65.54.132.254
host 65.54.132.254 = yourpersonaladdress.net (cached)
No recent reports, no history available
Routing details for 65.54.132.254
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 65.54.132.254 : abuse at hotmail.com
Using abuse net on abuse at hotmail.com
abuse net hotmail.com = abuse at hotmail.com
Using best contacts abuse at hotmail.com
Using rdns to route to correct Microsoft department
host 65.54.132.254 = yourpersonaladdress.net (cached)
abuse net yourpersonaladdress.net = postmaster at yourpersonaladdress.net

Cannot find master for:acefinanceuk-ltd.com
No valid email addresses found, sorry!

Thought this was odd since abuse at hotmail.com IS valid AND Opnerbl.org shows
the following:

Address: 65.54.132.254 resolved to acefinanceuk-ltd.com
 AS: 65.54.128.0/19 AS12076     Hotmail Corporation Sunnyvale/California
 Net 65.52-65.55 MICROSOFT-1BLK


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----

 NS-Delegation for 65.54.132.*: (*.acefinanceuk-ltd.com)

132.54.65.in-addr.arpa	-> ns4.msft.net
132.54.65.in-addr.arpa	-> ns5.msft.net
132.54.65.in-addr.arpa	-> ns1.msft.net
132.54.65.in-addr.arpa	-> ns2.msft.net
132.54.65.in-addr.arpa	-> ns3.msft.net


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----

 Abuse-Whois msft.net: (132.54.65.in-addr.arpa; 132.54.65.in-addr.arpa; ...)
[Cached]
[whois.abuse.net]
msnhst at microsoft.com (for msft.net)
postmaster at msft.net (for msft.net)

and ALL the abuse info you could ask for:

OrgName:    Microsoft Corp
OrgID:      MSFT
Address:    One Microsoft Way

OrgAbuseHandle: HOTMA-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Hotmail Abuse
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-425-882-8080
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse at hotmail.com

OrgAbuseHandle: MSNAB-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   MSN ABUSE
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-425-882-8080
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse at msn.com

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE231-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Abuse
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-425-882-8080
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse at microsoft.com

When I try parsing the individual Microsoft sites, I get the same idiotic
responses:


Parsing input: hotmail.com
host hotmail.com (checking ip) = 64.4.32.7
host 64.4.32.7 (getting name) = lc1.bay0.hotmail.com.
No recent reports, no history available
Routing details for 64.4.32.7
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 64.4.32.7 : abuse at microsoft.com
Using best contacts abuse at hotmail.com
Using rdns to route to correct Microsoft department
host 64.4.32.7 = lc1.bay0.hotmail.com (cached)
abuse net lc1.bay0.hotmail.com = abuse at hotmail.com

Cannot find master for:hotmail.com
No valid email addresses found, sorry!


Parsing input: msn.com
[report history]
Routing details for 207.68.172.246
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 207.68.172.246 : abuse at hotmail.com
Using abuse net on abuse at hotmail.com
abuse net hotmail.com = abuse at hotmail.com
Using best contacts abuse at hotmail.com
Using rdns to route to correct Microsoft department
host 207.68.172.246 = beta.msn.com (cached)
abuse net beta.msn.com = abuse at msn.com

Cannot find master for:msn.com
No valid email addresses found, sorry!


Parsing input: msft.net
host msft.net (checking ip) ip not found ; msft.net discarded as fake.
No recent reports, no history available

Cannot resolve msft.net

So, NO Microsoft, hotmail or MSN sites get reports ? What gives ? Needs a
fix ASAP!

David




More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list