[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Paypal/Ebay reporting error (deputies?)

Spam Hater dkona7b02 at sneakemail.com
Fri Apr 15 11:31:46 EDT 2005


Ummmm, eBay *owns* PayPal!!  The LART targets seem appropriate
to me. What doesn't seem appropriate is the LART itself.  What was the
context in which the PayPal URL was included in the SPAM?  Are you
trying to notify PayPal about a phishing attempt or are you claiming that
they are SPAMvertising their website???  I don't think SpamCop is the
right tool for phishing LARTs...  I send those separately and uncheck
the URL reporting for them.

At 10:07 AM 4/15/2005 -0400, David Butler typed:
 
>After months of correctly parsing Paypal spam to it's own reporting email
>addresses, the Spamcop engine is suddenly parsing it back to the Ebay
>parent:
>
>Re: http://www.paypal.com/ (Administrator of network hosting website
>referenced in spam)
>To: spoof#ebay.com at devnull.spamcop.net (Notes)
>To: spam at ebay.com (Notes)
>To: postmaster at ebay.com (Notes)
>
>Note that SPOOF email, the phishing email address, no longer accepts Spamcop
>reports.
>
>Looking on Openrbl.org, I see the addresses formerly used by SC are still
>the same:
>
>Abuse-Whois paypal.com: (paypal.com; paypal.com; paypal.com; paypal.com;
>paypal.com)
>[Cached]
>[whois.abuse.net]
>accessviolation at paypal.com (for paypal.com)
>postmaster at paypal.com (for paypal.com)
>spoof at paypal.com (for paypal.com)
>SC is parsing this as :Parsing input: paypal.comhost paypal.com (checking
>ip) = 216.113.188.64host 216.113.188.64 = www.paypal.com (cached)No recent
>reports, no history availableRouting details for
>216.113.188.64[refresh/show] Cached whois for 216.113.188.64 :
>network at ebay.comUsing abuse net on network at ebay.comabuse net ebay.com =
>spam at ebay.com, postmaster at ebay.com, spoof at ebay.comUsing best contacts
>spam at ebay.com postmaster at ebay.com spoof at ebay.comspoof@ebay.com refuses
>SpamCop reportsUsing spoof#ebay.com at devnull.spamcop.net for statistical
>tracking.But the openrbl.org analysis shows this still as Paypal:  Address:
>216.113.188.64 resolved to paypal.com AS: [NO_ROUTE] Net 216/8
>IANA-NETBLOCK-216 ?Given that Ebay is less responsive, shouldn't this report
>to Paypal ??


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list