[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: History

John E. Malmberg wb8tyw at qsl.network
Tue Feb 1 23:24:09 EST 2005


Paul Peeraerts wrote:
> My mail server uses the Spamcop blacklists, and a client that tried to 
> send a mail to us received the following warning:
> 
> Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?193.252.22.175

> but if you go to that URL you get:
> 
> 193.252.22.175 not listed in bl.spamcop.net
> 
> So I suppose the IP-number was delisted just recently. Is there a place 
> where I can find the recent history of listing and delisting for a given 
> IP-number?

The full information is only available from a deputy, because as has 
been explained before, the spammers were using the data.

But there is more information available from other sources:

And your unless your client's ISP fixes what appears to be a severe 
security problem on their network, they will probably find more and more 
networks refusing their e-mail.

http://ops.mail-abuse.com/cgi-bin/nph-ops-sview?193.252.22.175

It shows that this is the output relaying for a web mailer that as of 
Jan 23 was sending illegal Nigerian 419 scams on behalf of criminals.

As long as these criminals can use that web mailer, it has effectively 
made those mail servers the output of an open relay.

The people that report this spam to the MAPS-OPS typically also will 
report it to other anti-spam organizations, so there is no telling how 
many private blocking lists that mail server is on.

Spamhaus.org is now listing networks that permit spammers to send 
Nigerian 419 scams, and spamhaus.org is more widely used as a blocking 
list than spamcop.net.

That mail server is not currently listed with spamhaus.org, but with 
what can be viewed from it, it is probably a matter of time.

http://groups-beta.google.com/groups?as_epq=%22193.252.22.175%22&as_ugroup=*abuse*

Is showing a 419 scam dated JAN 30, 2005.

In this case, the mail server is not admitting where it got the spam 
that it is sending from, which is a very bad sign.  It indicates that 
the spammer possibly has administrative access to the server, or a 
server on a local LAN.

The public evidence is that this mail server and the network around them 
have severe security problems and a number of criminals on the internet 
have found this out, and have taken at least some control of them.

Criminals sell this information to other criminals, so until your 
client's ISP takes action to stop them, this problem will only get worse 
for them.

I would not worry too much about the spamcop.net reports, I would 
recommend that your client's ISP do a complete security audit on the 
servers until they find out how these criminals are able to send spam 
through it.

And unlike your server which gives an SMTP diagnostic when it does not 
accept e-mail, many commercial spam filters just silently delete mail 
from sources of spam.

So when your client does not get a rejection message from other networks 
they send e-mail to, there still is a high possibility that their 
intended recipient never received their e-mail.

-John
wb8tyw at qsl.network
Personal Opinion Only


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list