[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Spamcop Misreading Headers

N. Miller nobody at spamcop.net
Tue Jul 5 01:02:25 EDT 2005


On Mon, 4 Jul 2005 11:47:54 -0400, McWebber wrote:

> With the headers below, Spamcop parses it and skips the real header and
> picks the fake 179.243.186.188 as the IP to lart.
> abuse#iana.org at devnull.spamcop.net and for some reason doesn't want to lart
> abuse at cybercity.dk for  217.157.61.45 which is the ultimate source of the
> spam

Interesting. Sam Spade is not fooled, but running your headers results in
this tracker:

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z782224777z0a198f6cfa8ad5016f6589da2edfd169z

Apparently the originating IP address is close to the IP address of the MX
server for the domain listed, and SC thinks it is a trustable relay. Odd
that SC can't see, as Sam Spade does, that the IP address isn't a valid
block of IP addresses.

Sam Spade says:
---------------
07/04/05 23:52:25 Input
The Received: headers are the important ones to read

My comments are just hints, and should be considered only
an opinion. I may have guessed wrong, or things may have
changed since I was written

Return-Path: <hrvatina at online.hr>
Received: from omega.adventist.dk ([217.157.61.45])  by
    redacted (8.10.2/8.10.2) with SMTP id j64EUrK10943  for
    <me at example.com>; Mon, 4 Jul 2005 09:30:53 -0500
  This received header was added by your mailserver
  redacted received this from omega.adventist.dk
  (IP addresses match)

Received: from xbnq (179.243.186.188) by
    omega.adventist.dk; Mon, 4 Jul 2005 16:31:25 +0200
  omega.adventist.dk received this from someone claiming
  to be xbnq
  This host doesn't exist, so all headers below this one
  are probably forged

Message-ID: <006b01c4b5e6$18170c27$d69d6449 at xbnq>
---------------

-- 
Norman
~Shine, bright morning light,
~now in the air the spring is coming.
~Sweet, blowing wind,
~singing down the hills and valleys.


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list