[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Spamcop failing to detect true originating IP

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Tue Jul 12 16:30:36 EDT 2005


wskrispy wrote:
> Here's a tracker from a spam that Spamcop choked on, complete with SA
> headers:
>
>
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z785186974zfb5c4d04f5694f362a90b200bac251bfz

Good!  Posting a tracker is enormously important/ essential/ for these
issues.

Received: from acconci1 by 1n5-199.servernode.net

That is the first part of the top line from the tracker.  That line is
totally unacceptable/ noncompliant/ from the perspective of reporting
spam.  There is nothing you can do, such as removing SA lines, which
will restore those headers to a proper condition for reporting spam.

That line's 'from' field is supposed to contain the IP address of the
source from which the servernode received the item.  If it doesn't,
there *must* be some other compliant line stamped properly to
'represent' what is missing there.

> Received: from [62.101.126.224] (helo=acconci.com)
>         by 1n5-199.servernode.net with esmtp (Exim 4.43)
>         id 1Diaux-0001fo-UD
>         for x; Wed, 15 Jun 2005 12:39:09 -0400

This second line can take the place of the first line;  it is a
compliant line.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin




More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list