[SC-Help] Is this message legit re spamcop account?
Bob Stringer
xxxxx at xxxxx.net
Mon Jun 6 17:22:40 EDT 2005
I received the e-mail quoted below, indicating that it was
from "webmaster at spamcop.net"
I've changed my e-mail address in the quoted portions,
including in the link that was provided, to protect the
innocent. Otherwise it's verbatim.
I never trust messages like this one, since it simply looks
like someone's trying to get account information out of me.
For reasons I'll explain shortly, however, although I wasn't
going to log in or provide any information, I clicked on
the link to see what was up. However, all I got was a "404
Not Found" page at the Spamcop web site.
This ordinarily would have been be the end of the matter for
me, except that today is June 6, precisely the date for the
renewal of my account. I in fact renewed my account though
PayPal over two weeks ago, but the fact that I've received
such a message on the renewal date makes me wonder whether
it could be legitimate. I obviously don't want my account to
be closed because someone messed up the record of my
payment.
So, does anyone know whether this kind of message is sent
when an account is up for renewal, or whatever? (It seems
very strange that an account would be closed within 24 hours
without a response, since not everyone is in contact with
e-mail every single day of his life).
Hunting around the spamcop web site I didn't see any obvious
e-mail addresses for inquiries, and so I sent e-mail
messages, saying essentially what I've said above, to
support at cesmail.net, paypal at cesmail.net,
service at cesmail.net. One of those addresses sent me my
original renewal notice on May 22, and the other two were
referenced in the PayPal message confirming my renewal
payment. I didn't know where else to send it.
If anyone knows that there's some other address for
corresponding regarding accounts, or can suggest any other
address to which I should send a message, I'd appreciate
being informed. And quickly, since the message, if it's
legit, indicates my account will be suspended in 24 hours!
Thanks.
And here's the message I received:
From: webmaster at spamcop.net <webmaster at spamcop.net>
To: xxxxx at xxxxx.net
Date: Monday, June 6, 2005, 1:42:41 PM
Subject: Account Alert
Dear Valued Member,
According to our site policy you will have to confirm your
account by the following link or else your account will be
suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.
http://www.spamcop.net/confirm.php?email=xxxxx@xxxxx.net
Thank you for your attention to this question. We apologize
for any inconvenience.
Sincerely,Spamcop Security Department Assistant.
--
Bob Stringer
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list