[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Is this message legit re spamcop account?

Bob Stringer xxxxx at xxxxx.net
Tue Jun 7 19:13:41 EDT 2005


On Mon, 06 Jun 2005 17:54:29 -0600, Garen Erdoisa
<scamper at trisk.com> wrote:

>[snip]

> ... or better yet, feed it to the spamcop parser then post
> the spamcop tracker url here so the rest of us can see how
> spamcop parsed the message

Here it is:

<http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z772540266z922e7af1b33ee4502f4aa7389df5cc7ez>

> Other than that:

> It looks to me based ont the wording of the message like a
> phish scam that forged headers to make it appear to you
> like it might be comming from spamcop, but is in reality
> trying to trick you into entering your credit card info so
> the scammer can steal it.

I thought so. But as mentioned, what especially made me
wonder was that the message coincided with the renewal date
of my account. Also, when I clicked on the link to see where
it led, rather than taking me to a page that asked for
information, it took me to (what appeared to be) a "404 Not
Found" page at the Spamcop web site. Seemed like an odd
thing for a phisher to do, but what do I know.

>You'll need to look at the message source to reveal the hidden links 
>which will show where the link will really send you if you click on it.

How do I do that? I know how to look at all the header info,
but I'm not clear on what a message source is.

Thanks for the help.


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list