[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Is this message legit re spamcop account?

Jeff G. anon at coks.net
Tue Jun 7 19:39:23 EDT 2005


On 6/7/2005 6:13 PM Bob Stringer scribbled:

> On Mon, 06 Jun 2005 17:54:29 -0600, Garen Erdoisa
> <scamper at trisk.com> wrote:
> 
> 
>>[snip]
> 
> 
>>... or better yet, feed it to the spamcop parser then post
>>the spamcop tracker url here so the rest of us can see how
>>spamcop parsed the message
> 
> 
> Here it is:
> 
> <http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z772540266z922e7af1b33ee4502f4aa7389df5cc7ez>
> 
>>Other than that:
> 
> 
>>It looks to me based ont the wording of the message like a
>>phish scam that forged headers to make it appear to you
>>like it might be comming from spamcop, but is in reality
>>trying to trick you into entering your credit card info so
>>the scammer can steal it.
> 
> 
> I thought so. But as mentioned, what especially made me
> wonder was that the message coincided with the renewal date
> of my account. Also, when I clicked on the link to see where
> it led, rather than taking me to a page that asked for
> information, it took me to (what appeared to be) a "404 Not
> Found" page at the Spamcop web site. Seemed like an odd
> thing for a phisher to do, but what do I know.
> 
> 
>>You'll need to look at the message source to reveal the hidden links 
>>which will show where the link will really send you if you click on it.
> 
> 
> How do I do that? I know how to look at all the header info,
> but I'm not clear on what a message source is.
> 
> Thanks for the help.
Buried in all the gobbly gook in the msg. body, which you view via the
source code view in your email client, you'll most likely find a HTML
ref to an HTTP -
starts w/ <href>blahblah - if you don't know what you're looking at,
you'll need some practice and at the end of the day,  you won't be much
better off with the knowledge...


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list