[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Help me guys, whats going on?

Mike Richter mrichter at cpl.net
Fri Jun 10 12:29:57 EDT 2005


Kristoffer Lein wrote:
> Today I received this message. I am apperantly blocked in some register. 
> 
> What to do?
> 
> Failed to deliver to '****@attglobal.net'
> SMTP module(domain attglobal.net) reports:
>  return-path address <****@cqmail.net> rejected by mx2.prserv.net:
>  550 RBL block by MX.RBL - Spammer (20050518)
> 
Posted by a (mostly) happy SC user, not an official.

Your outgoing mail was sent from an (unidentified) IP address which was 
placed on a blocklist, presumably for being used by a spammer. You are 
not necessarily the spammer; indeed, it might only be that your IP 
address is a neighbor of that of a spammer.

Since the blocklist cited is not SpamCop's, there is nothing to be done 
here. If you will provide the IP address, those expert in such matters 
can give more information. (Indeed, they may be willing to track it down 
from the sending domain, but the address of the server is both easier to 
use and able to give unambiguous results.)

The solution is to send e-mail from a 'clean' IP address. If you cannot 
persuade your ISP to do due diligence, then you may have to have 
recourse to a supplemental account (Yahoo!, hotmail, etc.).

Mike
-- 
mrichter at cpl.net
http://www.mrichter.com/



More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list