[SC-Help] Re: Help me guys, whats going on?
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Jun 10 13:22:25 EDT 2005
Mike Richter wrote:
> Kristoffer Lein wrote:
>> Today I received this message. I am apperantly blocked in some
>> register.
>>
>> What to do?
>>
>> Failed to deliver to '****@attglobal.net'
>> SMTP module(domain attglobal.net) reports:
>> return-path address <****@cqmail.net> rejected by mx2.prserv.net:
>> 550 RBL block by MX.RBL - Spammer (20050518)
Altho' we can't tell exactly what is going on, what he's talking about
is a from spamcop address. cqmail.net's incoming MXes are
mx.cesmail.net & mx2.cesmail.net -- I don't know what spamcop's mail's
output servers are -- but the appearance of what he posted is that
Kristoffer was mailing from a spamcop account thru' some unknown SC
output server and the recipient MX for attglobal.net which was
mx2.prserv.net rejected the transaction on the basis of some unknown
blocklist.
Unfortunately the rejection information doesn't carry the spamcop server
output IP which was rejected or the name of a blocklist; but the reason
Kristoffer is asking here is because this is a spamcop newsgroup. It is
actually a mail question I think; and for that reason the expectation
is that it be handled somewhere other than in a regular spamcop.help
newsgroup.
> Your outgoing mail was sent from an (unidentified) IP address which
> was placed on a blocklist, presumably for being used by a spammer.
An unidentified *spamcop mail* IP address -- wherein the problem.
> You are not necessarily the spammer; indeed, it might only be that
> your IP address is a neighbor of that of a spammer.
>
> Since the blocklist cited is not SpamCop's, there is nothing to be
> done here.
Unless someone in charge of spamcop mail and the spamcop mail output
servers gets down to the bottom of it.
> If you will provide the IP address, those expert in such
> matters can give more information. (Indeed, they may be willing to
> track it down from the sending domain, but the address of the server
> is both easier to use and able to give unambiguous results.)
>
> The solution is to send e-mail from a 'clean' IP address. If you
> cannot persuade your ISP to do due diligence, then you may have to
> have recourse to a supplemental account (Yahoo!, hotmail, etc.).
See how terrible it all sounds when your mail provider is spamcop?
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list