[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Help me guys, whats going on?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Mon Jun 13 12:55:57 EDT 2005


Kristoffer Lein wrote:
>  "Mike Easter"

>> From swip.net mailerdaemon headers^0 over a 3 piece body
>>  - DSN words^1
>>  - DSN code 5.0.0
>>  - Original mail headers^2
>>
>> where the mailerdemon headers^0 show an item sourced from swip.net
>> to a spamcop mailbox, the DSN body describes^1 mx2.prserv.net
>> rejecting an unstated IP based on an unknown 'mx.rbl' blocklist, and
>> the original mail headers^2 show your From showing a source IP of
>> 193.217.177.229 which is rDNS 217-177-229.7002.adsl.tele2.no.
>
> This looks like my IP, DSL from Tele2.no.

Correct.

>> So, I'm assuming you emailed someone at swip.net from the tele2.no IP
>> which got bounced and the bounce was received at the spamcop addy

That assumption of mine was incorrect.  More later.

> I emailed from my SC-account to a attglobal account. Swip.net has
> something to do with my ISP, but is it they who bounce me?

Correct.  They inform you that the attempt to mail didn't work.  More
later.

>>  -- but the bounce was based on the .no IP, not a SC IP.  I can't
>>  make any sense or relationship between what the DSN body is saying^1
>>  and what I'm seeing in the headers^2.  The .no IP is listed in njabl
>>  and sorbs because it is a dynamic.  Your mail shouldn't be going out
>>  a dynamic IP. If it was belatedly bounced and bounced to a different
>>  From rather than rejected that might explain how it got into the SC
>>  mailbox.

I'm straightened out on this now.  The mail was going from your dynamic
IP to your provider's server.

> My ISP¹s mail server is situated in Sweden, and I have to use this
> with my SC-account - they don¹t suply smtp. My mail is sent from me,
> Norway, trough Sweden (my ISP¹s smtp). The .no IP (mine) is dynamic,
> doesn¹t all DSL connections have dynamic IP¹s?

Yes -- now that I understand the relationship between your dynamic and
your provider's server all is well.

>>  Are you familiar with this mail which got bounced?  Were you
>>  replying to a Kai somebody about something Bakgir?
>
> Yes. Kai has a webshop <http://www.fast-bikes.no/> and sells bicycles
> and spares. Bakgir in english is rear derailleur, which is broken on
> my bicycle and I¹m buying a new one from Kai.

bakgir is a good name for a rear deraileur. :-)

>>  Can you figure out why this is coming from swip.net but sez
>>  attglobal.net/mx2.prserv.net?  The prserv/att goes together but I
>>  don't get swip.  Of course all of the domains involved between you
>>  and Kai are munged out.
>
> A DNS lookup on swip.net, The Swedish IP Network, shows that it is
> owned by Tele2. In 1991 SWIPnet, was launched as the first commercial
> IP supplier in Sweden. Tele2 is originally a Swedish phone company
> with offices in several European countries, including Norway and is
> my ISP.

Yes.  Thanks.  How I was trying to tie them together didn't work.  But
they are tied I see now.

More about how I understand it better in the other one.

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin




More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list