[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Am I using a spam-friendly host?

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Jun 16 18:25:40 EDT 2005


Alan Harper wrote:
> Is there any way that I can figure out why an email was blocked by
> spamcop, and whether one of the computers I use to for outgoing mail
> was in the spamcop list, as least as of last Friday?

207.115.63.31  rDNS  yipvmd-ext.prodigy.net

was recently SCbl listed but it is off now;  senderbase's SCbl db sez it
is still listed as of this post, but SC's web sez it isn't, and the SC
web is more recent and correct.

>  I have posted the mail in question in spamcop.spam. To understand it,
> it might help to know that I send mail out using my dsl host,
> pacbell.net, to myself at <my_sbc_account>@sbcglobal.net, this is
> forwarded to alan@<mydomain.com> which is hosted at
> opensourcehost.com, and then forwarded to
> <my_spamcop_account>@spamcop.net, from which I pick it up.

Actually, it goes pacbell > *prodigy* > yahoo > opensource > SC

Here're the headers abbreviated

  from unknown (192.168.1.103) by blade5.cesmail.net
  from jag.opensourcehost.com (69.93.35.100) by mailgate2.cesmail.net
  from [66.163.168.165] (helo=mta819.mail.yahoo.com) by
jag.opensourcehost.com
  from (EHLO yipvmd.prodigy.net) (207.115.63.31) by
mta819.mail.yahoo.com
  from (prgy-npn1.prodigy.com [207.115.54.37]) by yipvmd.prodigy.net
  from (adsl-67-123-90-147.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net [67.123.90.147]) by
pimout4-ext.prodigy.net

The prodigy output server which sends to the yahoo was listed, but isn't
now.

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin




More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list