[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Am I using a spam-friendly host?

Alan Harper news at REMOVECAPSalanharper.com
Sat Jun 18 08:43:59 EDT 2005


In article <d8tivg$db1$1 at news.spamcop.net>, Mike Easter
<MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote:

> >> 207.115.63.31  rDNS  yipvmd-ext.prodigy.net
> >>
> >> was recently SCbl listed but it is off now;
> 
> > Thank you. I will communicate with SBC and see what they say.
> 
> It is currently listed again -- point them at the misdirecting bouncing
> faq. -- it is spending quite a bit of time being listed

My communications with SBC, just for the general entertainment of the
group (my inquiry sent 6/16, their response sent 6/19 (at 3:30AM, local
time!)

> Dear Alan,
> 
> Thank you for contacting SBC Yahoo! E-mail Support.
> 
> I apologize for the issue you have been experiencing and for the delay
> in response.
> 
> This issue can be best resolved working together over the telephone
> because it requires multiple troubleshooting steps.   Therefore, please
> contact our voice support at 1-877-SBC-DSL5.  As they have the tools
> and expertise to assist you in this regard. I thank you for your
> patience and understanding regarding this.
> 
> Thank you for using SBC Internet Services.  
> 
> Sincerely,
> 
> Marc
> SBC DSL Tech Support Specialist
> 
> 
> ========================================
> 
> You wrote:
> Description: I recently found that mail that I sent to
><my_email>@spamcop.net was marked as spam by my filter at spamcop.net.
> It seems that
> 207.115.63.31  rDNS  yipvmd-ext.prodigy.net
> was reported as a source of spam as of Fri 10 June, and was in the
> spamcop.net blacklist for some days.
> 
> Having one of your servers marked as a source of spam can mean that I
> am unable to communicate with people who (or whose service providers)
> choose to filter spam based on the spamcop blacklist. I use the spamcop
> blacklist and have found it to reliably remove spam and mail from known
> spam sources
> 
> I cannot afford to have my emails marked as spam because
> sbcglobal/yahoo allows other users to send spam through
> sbcglobal/yahoo/prodigy servers. I choose to have my email hosted by
> sbc because I expect you to deal with spam being sent through your
> servers before it becomes severe enough to have your servers listed on
> blacklists.
> 
> Could you please tell me why the server in question was included in the
> spamcop black list, and what efforts you are making to keep this from
> happening again.
> 
> Thank you
> 
> Alan
> 
> PS, No I don't use "Netscape 4.x" as my web browser--but your form
> requires that I lie to you in order to get this message to you.::
>


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list