[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Spam reported to dev null

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Sat Jun 25 00:43:30 EDT 2005


Posted to .help & .spam, f/ups to .help

.spam isn't a normal discussion group, so I'm moving my followups to
.help.

Greg Grotyohann wrote:
> Can anyone tell me why spam that comes from certain addresses like
> level3.net goes to dev null?

The best way to talk about any specific notify is to post its tracker
from the top of the parsing page.  This is how the tracker looks in its
environment

Here is your TRACKING URL - it may be saved for future reference:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z778526474z9f64fe760eda26e022bb26298593b924z

We can use that url to look at the spam and how spamcop parsed it and
how it wants to notify for it.  We can't tell much from your description
of a notify.

Basically, SC notifies only those providers who /want/ to be notified.
SpamCop notification is a courtesy, not a punishment.  If an issue is a
spamsource, the reported source is counted toward the SC blocklist
whether the provider wants to be notified or not.  If the issue is a
spamvertisement, it doesn't affect the blocklist whether the provider is
notified or not.  There are different reasons for different devnulls.

> Also, why does Spamcop "refuse to bother
> spam at apnic.net"? Most of the spam advertised web-sites seem to be
> hosted on apic.net.

apnic is a regional internet registrar RIR, not a website host.  The
RIRs are arin, ripe, apnic, lacnic, & afrinic.  Those registries are
where the providers IP blocks are looked up.  Any apnic notify would be
a 'mistake'.  If you post a tracker for what you are citing we can talk
about it.

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin




More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list