[SC-Help] Re: Blocked? Read this.
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Mar 10 19:56:19 EST 2005
Me wrote:
<my cite>
>> Start by giving the IP address which is blocked -- else we aren't
>> talking about anything yet.
>
> That would be useful, I know, but I am also hesitant to give out the
> IP. There's enough problems already, you could say it is a matter of
> trust...
You're hesitant to give an IP address? Here, let me break some ice for
you/us.
Your current IP is 67.87.1.79 rDNS ool-4357014f.dyn.optonline.net which
is probably/presumably geographically somewhere around Stamford CT
My current IP is 64.203.51.197 rDNS user-10cmcu5.cable.mindspring.com
which is presumably somewhere around San Diego, CA. So what? Is your
or my identity somehow outed now that we're talking about IPs which are
a lot closer to your meatspace self than some silly output IP of some
mailserver we can't talk about yet?
What is the big deal about giving the IP of the output IP for some mail
server, for goodness sake? How can that be a useful identity secret
when compared to your own IP which isn't concealed by some kind of
anonymous remailer to a newsserver? You have your security priorities
all screwed up. If you want to be secure in your identity, you are
going to have to go about it somehow besides not talking about the IP
you want to talk about but you don't want to name. furrfu
>> Or, if you like, you can stick it in here
>> http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml
>
> I've done that earlier today, but there was no response to the
> de-listing request.
I didn't give you that link for you to use to delist. I gave you that
link to stick in the IP in question so that you could begin to get a
clue about why it was SCbl listed, if it fact it was. Most likely, if
you would 'bravely' expose the stupid thing, someone here might tell you
a lot more about what kind of problems it has.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list