[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Help? Fraudulent email in the "from" of sp*m!

Brian (SnSR) SCNews.5.myspamgobbler at spamgourmet.com
Mon May 2 15:16:32 EDT 2005


Jodi Krangle wrote:
> I'm really hoping someone here has some advice for me...
> 
> My business email address - jodi at internet-marketing-mm.com - is getting 
> TONS of "mail undeliverable" messages (and I mean thousands a day) from 
> some slimy sp*mmers who have put that email address in the "from" field 
> of their mailouts.  :(

What would be very helpful is to be able to 'see' the bounces. The best 
way to do this is to put them through the SpamCop parser and paste a 
tracker to this newsgroup. Ideally, one that contains the full spam 
item, but we may be able to track down the original messages.

This will tell us (TINU) more useful information.

> 
> This has been going on for about five days not (maybe more) and it shows 
> no sign of stopping.  It's EXTREMELY annoying.
> 
> I'm aware that when people report sp*m, it's reported by IP address and 
> not necessarily by the actual email address listed in the mail... 
> although I'm sure my email address IS being banned by some people who 
> really think I'd be stupid enough to send out that crap, since the email 
> address actually makes reference to "internet-marketing".
> 

Performing a quick search, 205.207.28.103 is not listed in any 
blocklist. You may want to have a chat with Samurai Consulting just to 
let them know this is happening. Hopefully, they are aware enough that 
they would look at the real source of the emails, but this looks like it 
may be a small hosting company, and someone working there may not know 
how to read headers well.

I just spent a couple of days working on removing all support for an 
anonymous bulk emailer and a couple of large hosting companies took the 
software sites down without contacting the owners because I included 
their hosting company in the reports, even though they are just listing 
the software.

This was an overreaction, but don't let this happen to you.


> Is there ANYTHING I can do about this?  Does anyone have any advice for 
> me here?  I'm getting more than a little desperate.
> 

I can imagine how bothersome this could be. I haven't personally had the 
pleasure of dealing with this. (knocking on wood) It is possible that 
this is being done by a competitor, but most likely, it is just your 
turn. This happens to many people, and it will usually stop after a 
period of time.

I'm curious about the headers to your message. It shows a 
FORGED_RCVD_HELO, so I would appreciate an email from you just to make 
sure that this message was coming from you and not from a newsgroup 
troll or some such. spamnscamsreporter at gmail dot com.

I am also curious about your aversion to spelling out spam/mer. :)

> Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
> 
> All the best,
> 
> --Jodi
> 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> Jodi Krangle - Proprietress of The Muse's Muse
> Songwriting Resource @ www.musesmuse.com
> 
> To find out more about the free monthly e-zine:
> http://www.musesmuse.com/musenews.html
> 
> Do you have a website no one can find?
> http://www.internet-marketing-mm.com/ for details.
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------- 
> 


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list