[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Did I receive this bounce because...

Don J. Reid bounce at bounce.com
Thu May 5 14:22:59 EDT 2005


"Mike Easter" <MikeE at ster.invalid> wrote in message 
news:d5cbit$thm$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> Don J. Reid wrote:
>> Did I receive this bounce because some one forged my addy,  or is it a
>> retaliation for not perfectly munged reports.
>>
>> I have received MAILER-DAEMON response before but not seen this type
>> before
>
> It looks to me like;  in the beginning, 216.191.158.153 no rDNS an
> allstream user emailed a buncha ilap addresses and must've put your addy
> as a bogus From.  The ilap server accepted the mail for delivery and
> then bounced the mail it had accepted by creating a newmail addressed to
> your addy the From and with the headers of the original item attached.
> It also 'declared' the source IP of the original item in the body of its
> DSN "The original message was received at Wed, 4 May 2005 13:45:50 -0400
> (EDT) from [216.191.158.153]"  That's cute.
>
> But, cute or not, that is abusive behavior on the ilap server's part and
> is spamcop reportable.  I'm guessing at the scenario because there's
> mungeing pretty much everywhere.
>
> -- 
> Mike Easter
> kibitzer, not SC admin
>

Thanks Mike





More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list