[SC-Help] Re: Strange stuff going on (my mail got 8192 spamcop
reports,counting)
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Sun Nov 20 06:58:15 EST 2005
Ilgaz Ocal wrote:
> "Mike Easter"
>> The blocklisted major output server 67.43.163.77 rDNS
>> osiris.serverlogistics.com is also the incoming MX IP for
>> serverlogistics AKA mail.serverlogistics.net
>>> The link given in "bounce" mail is:
>>>
>>> http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=67.43.163.77
>>
>> It is bad for the server to be so listed:
>>
>> 67.43.163.77 listed in bl.spamcop.net
>> SpamCop users have reported system
>> delisted automatically in approximately 1 hours
>> System has been listed for less than 24 hours
>>
>> Reporter listing a server is suspicious for a bad reporter reporting
>> hir own server.
>
> So is it normal to get that mail to a normal user (not even
> postmaster at sumertilmac.com) as admin of entire serverlogistics?
What I was trying to say in my snippages from the SCbl listing
[currently the server has now autodelisted] was that it was bad for an
output [and what is also in this case an input server] to be listed
because that affects so many of the server's user senders. I was also
trying to say that we are looking at spamcop reporters reporting a
server. Since the parser is designed to not report servers but instead
a user IP behind the server, and if we can't see the evidence, we are
left to guess at the various causes of a server being reported by
reporters or a reporter. Especially a server which is also an input
server, MX.
One of those guesses is a reporter reporting hir own provider.
There's nothing about what I was saying about that above that answers
your question [which I don't really understand]
> So is it normal to get that mail to a normal user (not even
> postmaster at sumertilmac.com) as admin of entire serverlogistics?
SC's notify for 67.43.163.77 would be abuse at xfernet.net because of the
arin contact. If a user at sumertilmac sent a spam, I would have to
know the output server to know how SC would notify. SC doesn't notify
on the basis of a domainname.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list