[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: AOL Bouncing Our Mail

Anthony Edwards anthony.edwards at uk.easynet.net
Wed Sep 7 13:07:06 EDT 2005


On Wed, 07 Sep 2005 05:31:58 -0600, SpamCop Admin <nobody at devnull.spamcop.net>
wrote:
> AOL users are starting to report that our responses to their email
> spam submissions are bouncing.
>
> It's due to our recent change in server IPs.

Possibly, possibly not.  They are similarly bouncing email we are
attempting to send to a corporate customer whose sole contact address
is @aol.com with the following error message:

http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554hvub1.html

Which means:

       *  554 HVU:B1
      http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554hvub1.html

      EXPLANATION:

      There is at least one URL in your email that is generating
      substantial complaints from AOL members.

The two URLs which are common in all of the attempts so far (we are
progressively editing to remove URLs) are:

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?* (a link to an example Unsolicited Bulk Email
reported via your service)

And:

http://www.uk.easynet.net/legal/acceptable.asp

My guess would be that, for whatever reason, AOL are currently blocking
all mail with URLs containing "http://www.spamcop.net/".

-- 
Anthony Edwards              *     anthony.edwards at uk.easynet.net
Abuse Team Manager           *     Tel: 0800 053 0588
Easynet Ltd                  *     DDI: 0161 227 0707
http://www.uk.easynet.net    *     Fax: 0845 333 4503


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list