[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: AOL Bouncing Our Mail

SJones nobody at spamcop.net
Wed Sep 7 19:37:58 EDT 2005


On or about 9/7/2005 5:10 PM, SpamCop Admin penned the following:
> Anthony Edwards wrote:
>>-> It's due to our recent change in server IPs.
> 
>>-Possibly, possibly not.
> 
> Probably not.  I got AOL to whitelist our IPs anyway because AOL users
> routinely report our mail to AOL as spam.  We've been blocked before
> because of it.  Defensive measure if nothing else. 
> 
>>-They are similarly bouncing email we are
>>-attempting to send to a corporate customer whose sole contact address
>>-is @aol.com with the following error message:
>>-
>>-http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554hvub1.html
> 
> That's the same error I'm seeing.
> 
> I just talked to AOL Postmaster Support and they say our IPs and
> www.spamcop.net URL are not the problem.
> 
> Earlier today, I had an issue where all my mail to an AOL user was
> bouncing, with the same error, even though there weren't any URLs in
> the message.
> 
> I spent an hour with the AOL support guy testing stuff at that time,
> and it turns out the rejection was because of an all-caps subject
> line.
> 
> All very strange.  The support guy thinks there has to be something
> wrong, so he entered a trouble ticket and escalated the problem to a
> higher level.
> 
> More news later.
> 
> - Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin - 
> 
> 
> 
>>-
>>-Which means:
>>-
>>-       *  554 HVU:B1
>>-      http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554hvub1.html
>>-
>>-      EXPLANATION:
>>-
>>-      There is at least one URL in your email that is generating
>>-      substantial complaints from AOL members.
>>-
>>-The two URLs which are common in all of the attempts so far (we are
>>-progressively editing to remove URLs) are:
>>-
>>-http://www.spamcop.net/sc?* (a link to an example Unsolicited Bulk Email
>>-reported via your service)
>>-
>>-And:
>>-
>>-http://www.uk.easynet.net/legal/acceptable.asp
>>-
>>-My guess would be that, for whatever reason, AOL are currently blocking
>>-all mail with URLs containing "http://www.spamcop.net/".

I, too, have been getting bounced reports from aol.  Here's a typical one:

Recipient address: <xxx>@aol.com
  Reason: SMTP transmission failure has occurred
  Diagnostic code: smtp;554-:  (HVU:B1)
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554hvub1.html TRANSACTION FAILED
  Remote system: dns;mailin-01.mx.aol.com
(TCP|206.46.252.40|54606|205.188.159.57|25) (rly-yg03.mx.aol.com ESMTP
mail_relay_in-yg3.6; Tue, 06 Sep 2005 19:25:39 -0400)

-- 
All spam & UCE are reported.


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list