[SC-Help] Re: Gmail blacklisted by SpamCop again
Ellen
nobody at spamcop.net
Thu Sep 22 09:09:43 EDT 2005
<totojepast at razdva.cz> wrote in message
news:1127381903.003393.153010 at g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> -- shouldn't be the Gmaill's IP range (64.233.160.0/19?) wwhitelisted?
> Or does SpamCop just blacklist its competition (Gmail provides mail
> services and spam filtering for free)?
>
>
Gmail servers do *not* include the injecting user IP in the headers -- the
other major, and most minor, freemail systems include that IP. As a result,
from time to time, gmail servers get listed on the SpamCop blocklist because
there is spam being sent thru those servers. Gmail has stated that they do
not include the user injecting IP as a matter of privacy, altho other
properties such as google groups do include the IP, and they are aware of
the end result of potential listing on the SpamCop blocklist.
It is entirely appropriate for any server owner/operator to make whitelist
and blocklist decisions that are appropriate to their particular environment
and user base and, indeed, a well thought out anti-spam approach should take
into account multiple sources of information and assign relative weights to
those sources in the detemination as to whether or not to accept a piece of
mail.
Blocklist operators should make public their criteria for listings and
delistings and should operate in a fashion that is consistent with those
criteria. The SpamCop information can be found here:
http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/297.html
Ellen
SpamCop
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list