[SC-Help] Re: SpamCop doesn't parse routing info correctly
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Apr 14 07:30:31 EDT 2006
Tristan Miller wrote:
> Mike Easter wrote:
>> Using SC to determine the source of this kind of mail is appropriate,
>> but you shouldn't be SC reporting these as spam -- I'm assuming that
>> you are not.
>
> Why shouldn't I be?
My thoughts were not that it wasn't unsolicited and unwanted, but more
that the 'butt' of a SC report, the arizona.edu spamsource, might be
'misdirected' [sorta] and if listed could potentially cause 'collateral'
damage. But, OTOH, maybe it isn't a library terminal at all. And, on
another hand, maybe a spamcop report might cause some interest on
arizona.edu's part.
In reality, the entity which should be taking action is yahoo against
its webmailer account moreevilbaddeals at yahoo.com so if I were manually
reporting, I would be 'talking' to yahoo. But, I see below that s/he
adds new yahoo accounts, or rather perhaps just changes from one to
another without losing any..
It is hard to say what 128.196.165.21 rDNS PUB-E3.AHSL.Arizona.EDU
really is, because you can't trust your antagonist to be telling the
truth about that, but it seems that 'correspondence' with the arin
listed contact abuse at arizona.edu with a manual notify, just like the
manual notify to yahoo, would be more 'interesting' than simply
performing a SC report.
Tristan Miller wrote:
> mass mailing his incoherent rants to everyone in his address book for
> years. He always uses a Yahoo! Mail account, which he logs into at
> some public access library terminal at the University of Arizona. (He
has
> admitted as much.)
> He tries to circumvent filters and block lists by using
> public access terminals in libraries and creating new Yahoo! Mail
> accounts every few weeks. I think this fits the definition of spam
> listed in the FAQ.
It is unwanted and unsolicited -- it isn't typical spam. It is more
like 'social' spam, being on someone's mailing list you don't want to be
on. As a result of its difference from typical spam, the typical
spamcop report isn't really quite on the money, ie accurately directed.
Unless maybe that isn't a library terminal but a dormitory access.
>> Correct. SC correctly parses yours at nothingisreal; SC incorrectly
>> parses the worldsocialism because there is a noncompliant MTA
>> mailserver in the chain..
>
> OK, perhaps I should report this to BT Connect, then.
I'm still trying to figure out why that btconnect is in there. I'm now
thinking it is part of the apparatus for yahoo. Server admins are often
'reluctant' to improve on their configuration -- because it isn't really
bothering /them/ - it just doesn't parse right. If your employer
recipient were reporting spams which named the btconnect server, they
might get SCbl listed and interested.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list