[SC-Help]
Re: Loads of spam showing "Delviery Status Notification", "Failure
Notice" etc.
Ant
not at home.today
Mon Apr 17 03:28:07 EDT 2006
"Ant" wrote:
> "rowan" wrote:
>> I've recently started receiving loads of spam messages which purport to
>> be delivery failure messages. They are always addressed to a
>> non-existent user at my domain, e.g. ojvnyo@, ejrzx@, rrl@ etc.
>
> I, and a lot of customers at my old ISP, am getting the same because
> we have unlimited email addresses of the form:
> <[anything]@[account name].[ISP name].co.uk>
I've noticed your (rowan) IP address (84.64.107.134) belongs to
Energis, so would I be correct in assuming you're a customer of
Wanadoo UK? Which domain(s) of yours is/are affected (e.g.
wanadoo.co.uk, fsnet.co.uk, freeserve... etc.)?
I also have an fsnet account, and there is some discussion in the
group wanadoouk.help.misc (not available on google groups, but may be
on an nntp server near you, but not the Energis one because WooUK no
longer provide newsgroups!) about this. People are wondering if
customers with legacy email addresses (freeserve, fsnet, fslife, etc.)
at this ISP are being targeted. I doubt we're being singled out,
myself, but it's possible the spammer has reached the letter "f" in
domains to use for a bogus sender.
The rest of this post has nothing to do with your question, but
others may know something.
>From your headers:
Path: news.spamcop.net!newsfeed-3001.bay.webtv.net!news.glorb.com!
postnews.google.com!u72g2000cwu.googlegroups.com!not-for-mail
Message-ID: <1145201196.288571.50190 at u72g2000cwu.googlegroups.com>
Rowan's post came from Google Groups and ended up here via webtv.
Does news.spamcop.net have new peering arrangements? I thought GG
posts never made it to the nntp server.
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list