[SC-Help]
Re: I'm a bit at a loss here... (9 Million questions - or less)
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Fri Feb 24 06:38:25 EST 2006
Mike Easter wrote:
> Galen wrote:
>
>> a recently started webhosting
>> company.
>
>> I found the ISP section for SpamCop, signed up, configured it for
>> hourly reports, and set it to the abuse@ email address.
> More importantly, for your purposes, for the spamvertiser, SC resolves
> the IP of the spamvertised site, uses the RIR to determine a contact.
> SC does not make notifies based simply on some domainname.
>
> For example and for purposes of illustration, if SC were going to
> notify as if the body of your message contained a spamvertiser, it
> would derive this:
>
> Parsing input: http://www.whathostingshould.be
> Host www.whathostingshould.be (checking ip) = 69.16.211.62
> host 69.16.211.62 (getting name) = creston.dailydns.com.
> Routing details for 69.16.211.62
> [refresh/show] Cached whois for 69.16.211.62 : abuse at liquidweb.com
In addition to that, there are about 92 other domainnames occupying
69.16.211.62 rDNS creston.dailydns.com
If any of them were spamvertised, the notify would go to liquidweb. My
source of information about that isn't necessarily accurate or uptodate,
for example that source doesn't show whathostingshould.be at this time
As I check on the registration for whathostingshould.be - I see that it
has recently changed. It was reg'd Jan 9, but it was updated Feb 12 and
your name, address, & gmail appear, along with your G3 organization. So
I'm thinking that maybe the IP for the site changed or something which
causes my lookup for all of the sites at 69.16.211.62 to not be
completely accurate.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list