[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: Geocities Reporting

Kenneth Brody kenbrody at spamcop.net
Fri Jan 20 14:44:59 EST 2006


Mike Easter wrote:
> 
> Mike wrote:
> > I know that the parsing problem with geocities.com has been
> > discussed, but has anyone noticed that when you run a geocities URL
> > through the single line parser that you get the message that
> > abuse at yahoo.com redirects to network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc ?  Note that
> > there is not ".com" in this URL.  So it's not surprising that the
> > next line says that network-abuse at cc-yahoo-inc bounces.  Can the
> > ".com" be put back in the redirect target?
> 
> You would think so, but for some reason that I don't fathom, the deputy
> sez that yahoo has to do it.
> 
> Beats me.

Well, it now shows:

    Using best contacts abuse at yahoo.com
    abuse at yahoo.com redirects to network-abuse at cc.yahoo-inc.com

My understanding is that the problem was that Yahoo had the wrong data in
the abuse.net database, which is something that SpamCop does not control.
Hence, the need for someone at Yahoo to fix it.  (Short of modifying
SpamCop's parser to special-case "cc.yahoo-inc" to fix it.)

-- 
+-------------------------+--------------------+-----------------------------+
| Kenneth J. Brody        | www.hvcomputer.com |                             |
| kenbrody/at\spamcop.net | www.fptech.com     | #include <std_disclaimer.h> |
+-------------------------+--------------------+-----------------------------+
Don't e-mail me at: <mailto:ThisIsASpamTrap at gmail.com>



More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list