[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: AOL Issue

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Sat Mar 11 14:19:21 EST 2006


Chris Wright wrote:

> Now a few months ago, I had emailed someone at AOL via my yaps4u.net
> domain.  Just a normal email address, not an abuse address, but a
> personal email account.

Yes.  yaps4u.net belongs to you and its MX is mail.yaps4u.net which is
72.22.69.58  which is actually host373.ipowerweb.com which is actually
not just an MX but also one of the many output servers in that family of
ipowerweb.com servers, maybe hundreds of them.

> I was surprised to see that I got a return message from AOL saying
> that they would not accept ANY email from the mail server at
> YAPS4U.net as this email server was responsible for reporting SPAM to
> them.

That doesn't make any sense and is not 'believable' or plausible or
'conceivable' on the face of it.

>  the AOL users are also
> reporting that they don't get my mails when I send via the YAPS4U.NET
> account.

It is quite conceivable that a particular server's output wouldn't be
AOL accepted, but not for that reason, reporting spam.

> YAPS4U.NET was hosted on a shared server many years ago, and someone
> else on that same machine got the IP blacklisted on DSBL.

Getting listed happens.  Getting listed for reporting spam doesn't
happen.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list