[SC-Help] Re: AOL Issue
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Sat Mar 11 14:30:52 EST 2006
Chris Wright wrote:
> The message was along the lines of:
>
> <xxxxxxxxxxxxxx at aol.com>:
> Connected to 64.12.138.152 but greeting failed.
> Remote host said: 554- (RTR:BL)
> http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrbl.html
> 554- AOL does not accept e-mail transactions from IP addresses which
> 554- send abuse reports to AOL
> 554 Connecting IP: 72.22.69.58
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrbl.html Error 554
TR:BL -- EXPLANATION: - This error message indicates that a block has
been placed against your IP address because we have received numerous
complaints concerning mail coming from that IP address. - SOLUTION: -
Please have your ISP or server administrator contact AOL for assistance.
The mail administrator should request a feedback loop that will alert
them to reported spam from their network. You can access the Feedback
Loop request form here. <see below>
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/tools/fbl.html Feedback Loop Request
Form - AOL offers a feedback loop service, free of charge, to parties
sending large amounts of mail to AOL members. The feedback loop (FBL)
will forward any mail reported as spam originating from the associated
IP addresses back to the listed email address. We highly recommend the
use of a dedicated e-mail address for this purpose. The AOL member's
email address will be stripped out of the header for security purposes;
however, any other identifying information in the email will remain
untouched. You can always check your existing feedback loops by entering
your e-mail in the feedback loop check.
> Any mail I send to AOL users now via my YAPS4U.NET domain,
> (72.22.69.58), just doesn't get delivered to the AOL users and I
> haven't seen a failure message like the one above for a while.
>
> And 72.22.69.58 hasn't appeared on any blacklists for years AFAIK. (It
> was on DSBL once, but was appealed and removed in hours more than
> days).
AOL could have its own 'list' and the IP not be on other lists.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-Help
mailing list