[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SC-Help] Re: AOL Issue

Chris Wright chris.a.wright at gmail.com
Sat Mar 11 23:39:12 EST 2006


Mike Easter wrote:
> Chris Wright wrote:
>> The message was along the lines of:
>>
>> <xxxxxxxxxxxxxx at aol.com>:
>> Connected to 64.12.138.152 but greeting failed.
>> Remote host said: 554- (RTR:BL)
>> http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrbl.html
>> 554- AOL does not accept e-mail transactions from IP addresses which
>> 554- send abuse reports to AOL
>> 554 Connecting IP: 72.22.69.58
> 
> http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrbl.html  Error 554
> TR:BL  --  EXPLANATION:  - This error message indicates that a block has
> been placed against your IP address because we have received numerous
> complaints concerning mail coming from that IP address. - SOLUTION: -
> Please have your ISP or server administrator contact AOL for assistance.
> The mail administrator should request a feedback loop that will alert
> them to reported spam from their network. You can access the Feedback
> Loop request form here.  <see below>
> 
> http://postmaster.info.aol.com/tools/fbl.html Feedback Loop Request
> Form - AOL offers a feedback loop service, free of charge, to parties
> sending large amounts of mail to AOL members. The feedback loop (FBL)
> will forward any mail reported as spam originating from the associated
> IP addresses back to the listed email address. We highly recommend the
> use of a dedicated e-mail address for this purpose. The AOL member's
> email address will be stripped out of the header for security purposes;
> however, any other identifying information in the email will remain
> untouched. You can always check your existing feedback loops by entering
> your e-mail in the feedback loop check.
> 
>> Any mail I send to AOL users now via my YAPS4U.NET domain,
>> (72.22.69.58), just doesn't get delivered to the AOL users and I
>> haven't seen a failure message like the one above for a while.
>>
>> And 72.22.69.58 hasn't appeared on any blacklists for years AFAIK. (It
>> was on DSBL once, but was appealed and removed in hours more than
>> days).
> 
> AOL could have its own 'list' and the IP not be on other lists.
> 
> 

You have all but convinced me I was seeing things now :(
I think it rather unbelievable at the time that they 'would do' such a 
thing.  And quite a bit of searching didn't yield anything.

I could have misread it for a similarly worded response, and in all 
honestly, that is what I probably did.  It was only the mention in the 
other thread that got me thinking maybe I didn't.

It can't have been for a high volume of mails, mostly there are personal 
ones with the accidental business one (my business domains are 
different, YAPS is my testing ground/personal rant server).

Time to crawl back in my hole and I'll make sure next time I don't bin 
the receipt.

I honestly believe you when you say it is unlikely, since I thought that 
at the time..

Thanks anyway,

Chris


More information about the SpamCop-Help mailing list