[SpamCop-List] Re: possible e-mail harvesting?
despaminator
spamcop-list
Wed, 8 Aug 2001 13:42:52 -0700
71 hits in news.admin.*
http://groups.google.com/groups?q=Dirk+Faust+&hl=en&safe=off&btnG=Google+Sea
rch&meta=site%3Dgroups%26group%3Dnews.admin.*
RickB
"Cat" <nobody> wrote in message
news:3B71A276.871E0F21
> Has anyone else here gotten e-mail from someone named Dirk Faust saying
> that your web site was down when he tried to visit it? I thought the
> whole thing seemed fishy at first for several reasons, then a friend of
> mine got the same e-mail from the same person last night about his own
> web site. These e-mails are sent to whatever adress is used as the
> domain contact for people who have their own web site domains. I have a
> free site at Geocities, but I also have my own domain name set up to
> forward to my Geocities site. Only a small handful of people know my
> domain name since I'm still working on the main page of my site before I
> really start advertizing the address. None of these people know that I
> use that e-mail address for the domain contact, and the e-mail address
> is not listed anywhere on the site. The only way he could have linked
> the two together is if he was looking up random domains for whois
> contact info or something like that. Also, my site was never unreachable
> during the time he claimed it was.
>
> My friend who got the same e-mail also does not know about my domain
> address. He only knows about my Geocities address. Seeing that both of
> us got this same message was just a little weird, so I thought I would
> mention it here and see if anyone else is getting the same message from
> this Dirk Faust. I'll post the e-mail over in .spam with my domain Xed
> out.
>