[SpamCop-List] Re: Adobe spam

michael lefevre spamcop-list
Thu, 1 Feb 2001 18:23:29 -0000


"Sylvesterthekat" <me> wrote in message
news:95c8mg$24r$1
> I got one this morning from 'Adobe'. It has my name on it so I know
they got
> the address from something I've subscribed to. Within the message it
> mentions bn.com which I think I have bought stuff from in the past.
Has
> anyone else seen this? Does anyone know if it is indeed bn.com that
have
> committed the crime of passing on my address?

http://www.bn.com/help/nc_privacy_policy.asp#4

so i'd say it probably was them...

arguable whether it's spam or not... you have opted-in to bn.com's list,
and their policy does say they'll do this... some would argue that any
transfer of information between companies means that the other company
does not have your permission to email you...

one significant point is who actually sent you the email... did bn.com
send out email to their own list on behalf of adobe, or did adobe get a
copy of the list from b&n and sending their own mailing? (if you're not
sure, parse it without reporting and post a tracking URL)

michael