[SpamCop-List] Re: Host/ISP Reporting Error

PaulK spamcop-list
Wed, 21 Feb 2001 08:50:53 -0500


Thanks for that very informative reply. Very helpful. I am probably like
most SPAM reporters in that we know we want to get rid of this stuff, but do
not even know the full breadth of what the software we are using really does
(such as SpamCop).

So here is one more question then. What exactly is an Open Relay and what
would it mean to the ISP/Host if they were to disable this type of function.
Different people seem to have different answers on this. I would be
interested in your thoughts on this.

Thanks Again -

PaulK


Don Bennett <nobody> wrote in message
news:mailman.982694703.4257.spamcop-list
PaulK writes:
>- http://spamcop.net/sc?id=z16923215z62fccc2c6ab2610a914142d9014820b9z
>-
>- The info pointing to:
>-
>- abuse
>- postmaster
>-
>- is my own host (and the bigger fish in front of them). This has me
stumped.
>- If anyone can shed some light I would appreciate it. Don, what do you
think?

It looks like your host is running an open relay on the machine at
206.243.183.132, and Shore.net owns the block of addresses that includes
206.243.183.132.  They both get a notice about the open relay.  Open relays
are bad.  We want them closed so the spammers can't abuse them.

>-  "nslookup infobsun2.infoboard.net" (checking ip) ip = 206.243.183.132
>- No abuse.net record for infobsun2.infoboard.net

This line from the parse indicates that Infoboard owns the IP address and
that Abuse.net has no contact information on them.

>-  "dig -x 206.243.183 soa" (digging for start of
authority)-postmaster
>- abuse.net northshore.ecosoft.com = abuse

This line from the parse is reporting that SpamCop finds Ecosoft as being
the owner of the block of addresses containing the open relay, and that they
have registered the Shore.net address with the Abuse.net database as being
the reporting address for complaints involving Ecosoft.


The source of the spam is a different issue and is the subject of the
complaint to popsite.