[SpamCop-List] ISP suggests own network be RBL'd?

Chris Abbey spamcop-list
Tue, 27 Feb 2001 10:22:31 -0600


I just got a response to an month old lart that was simply:

Please report this spam to MAPS RBL.

This was from someone on the network of origin. Is he seriously
suggesting that I should propose a RBL of his own network??

the relevant headers for the original spam were:

 > Received: from mail.bresnanlink.net (localhost [127.0.0.1])
 >  by tweedle.cabbey.net (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id UAA17131
 >  for <x>; Sun, 21 Jan 2001 20:42:20 -0600
 > Received: from sourceware.cygnus.com ([205.180.83.71])
 >  by mail.chartermi.net (Post.Office MTA v3.5.3 release 223
 >  ID# 0-70727U39742L26062S0V35) with SMTP id net
 >  for <x>; Sun, 21 Jan 2001 21:20:03 -0500

...list management stuff...

 > Received: from utsunomiya-ppp-210-157-11-74.interq.or.jp (HELO
 >  ip.only) (210.157.11.74) by sourceware.cygnus.com with SMTP; 22
 >  Jan 2001 02:19:51 -0000

and this one which was discarded as fake

 > Received: from ozw (pc5.inoichiban-unet.ocn.ne.jp [211.123.26.237])
 >  by ip.only (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id LAA04615
 >  for <x.>; Mon, 22 Jan 2001 11:19:09 +0900

the response came from @interq.or.jp.

I'm suspecting either an incomplete understanding of RBL, or
a shaky grasp on english ... or I'm really out of it today and
missing something entirely.