[SpamCop-List] Re: ISP suggests own network be RBL'd?
Chris Abbey
spamcop-list
Wed, 28 Feb 2001 00:17:42 -0600
Bob W. wrote:
> He may have a contract he's having a hard time getting out of; an RBL
> listing might encourage the Spammer to go elsewhere. <g>
a very interesting possibility... and not one I'd thought of.
OK, I'm game, if any one else cares to contribute evidence to the file
post it to me at chris_abbey with [interq.or.jp] in the subject.
We're looking for spam ORIGINATING within that domain, it may have a
bogus looking header such as this as well:
> Received: from utsunomiya-ppp-210-157-11-74.interq.or.jp (HELO ip.only)
> (210.157.11.74) by sourceware.cygnus.com with SMTP; 22 Jan 2001 02:19:51
> -0000
> Received: from ozw (pc5.inoichiban-unet.ocn.ne.jp [211.123.26.237])
> by ip.only (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id LAA04615
> for <x.>; Mon, 22 Jan 2001 11:19:09 +0900
Other distinguishing features would be:
> Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-2022-jp
Sadly the content is all in one of the many DBCS languages which
I don't read so I don't know what the hell they're selling, but
they are CLEARLY selling something.
I've checked my backlog, but there is only one spam in there that came
from his network... and that given that about 1/4 of my spam is in
one of the afore mentioned DBCS charsets is a drop in the bucket.