[SpamCop-List] Re: Mysterious "spam"

B.G. spamcop-list
Sun, 27 Jan 2002 10:17:33 -0800


Looks like something got 'planted' on your system and it autoruns.  And
you're getting an 'ad check' from Doubleclick .. as in the cookie they
planted on your computer may be phoning home.  Do you have a firewall??  If
not, I suggest you get one IMMEDIATELY ... and Zone Alarm is about the best
one going .. and it's free!   Go to:  http://www.zonelabs.com and download
the free version .. it's for 'personal' use.

On your Zone Alarm, when this 'autorun' site comes back up, you'll be asked
if you want it to access the internet.  Say NO!!  And then you can go to
your 'programs' tab and permanently tell ZA not to allow it access to your
computer.

Also, download a freebie called Ad-Aware.  It cleans your registry and all
files of ad/spyware software that 'phones home.'  It's free, too, and can be
found at:  www.lavasoftusa.com/  .. right now, the site is down for
maintenance, but catch it when it comes back up!

The dlode site is a marketing 'pitch' for the exact automated system you're
getting.  Feel free to LART them at:

Registrant:
eAcceleration Corp. (DLODE-DOM)
   1223 NW FINN HILL RD
   POULSBO, WA 98370-9712
   US

   Domain Name: DLODE.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      eAcceleration Corp.  (H17572-OR)  jon
      eAcceleration Corp.
      1223 NW FINN HILL RD
      POULSBO, WA 98370-9712
      US
      360-697-9260 fax: 360-598-2450
   Technical Contact:
      Delmendo, Jon  (JD8476)  jon
      Acceleration Software International
      1223 NW Finn Hill Road
      Poulsbo, WA  98370
      US
      360-697-9260 360-598-2450
   Billing Contact:
      Billing Dept.  (BD2829-ORG)  billing
      eAcceleration Corp.
      1223 NW Finn Hill Road
      Poulsbo, WA 98370
      US
      360-697-9260
      Fax- 360-598-2450

   Record last updated on 16-Jan-2002.
   Record expires on 04-Apr-2003.
   Record created on 04-Apr-2001.
   Database last updated on 26-Jan-2002 23:43:00 EST.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS.EACCELERATION.COM  216.231.108.240

And I'd report this as spam if you can.

B.G.

Nilla <lubricious> wrote in message
news:a31e9c$fdu$1
> Now and then, when I go away and leave my computer on (with Internet
> Explorer and spamcop report site open), I noticed that another, new site
has
> opened without my help. Yesterday I actually SAW it happen, and it was
> called "asic_temp.html" as it was opening - then, when opened, it
transforms
> into:
>
http://www.dlode.com/corax_f.php?jsb=1&cwt=1&cwp=clickbox.eacceleration.com%
>
2Fperl%2Fclickbox%2Fclickbox%3F2%2C5001154%2C2930%2Cwww2.buttonware.net%2Ft4
> c%2F, promoting some sort of role game (I never ever had an interest in
> those things). Anyone heard of it? I deleted the file (asic_temp.html)
> yesterday but today it is back and the same thing happened.... This is
> really scary. What's happening?
> Every time it happens, there are also three cookies in my computer called
> gko[2].txt, gko[1].txt,  and
> gko[1].txt. What do they do? I take them away but they keep
coming
> back. I have a feeling they are related to this site coming up....
>
> Anyone got a clue? Maybe this isn't REAL spam but it is really unsolicited
> and as annoying as Spam. I don't know how to get rid of it....
>
> Nilla
>
>