[SpamCop-List] Re: Bogus spamcop warning?

Stuart Brook spamcop-list@news.spamcop.net
Thu Feb 13 16:10:46 EST 2003


Tim Wohlford wrote:
> 
> I got one of those damned forgeries too, this time asking for money, hinting
> that my domain will be blocked due to spam, which of course might be views
> as blackmail???
> 
> Email me if you have need of my assistance on this; I'm thinking that I'm
> filing a complaint against "persons unknown" on this one w/ the police.
> 
> Tim Wohlford
> 
> "Thad Askew" <nobody> wrote in message
> news:j28n4vcjssi8u1rt2sukl4i0pv3anm5mss
> > Jim Casey wrote:
> >
> > >-This morning I received a warning purportedly from Julian Haight that my
> > >-site is going to be blacklisted.
> >
> > I'm sorry you got tangled up in this.  The mail you're getting that
> > looks like it's from SpamCop is a forgery.  The whole thing is a hoax.
> > We have a revenge seeking spammer who is trying his best to cause
> > trouble for us by causing trouble for you.  This is the eighth such
> > attack on us recently.
> >
> > SpamCop is an anti-spam reporting service that sends something like
> > 100,000 complaints a day to spammer hosts worldwide, which has made
> > this particular spammer very angry.  However, we only send complaints
> > about specific messages, not general indictments of a system, or
> > anything like that.
> >
> > Actual SpamCop complaints would come from an address like
> > 12345678  Each complaint has a unique numbered
> > address.  Spam complaints are the *only* mail we send.  We do not
> > promote ourselves, nor do we work with bulk mailers or list managers.
> > Obviously we send bounce notices and stuff like that, but generally
> > not anything else.
> >
> > We would appreciate it very much if you would not block
> > service, deputies, or spamcop.net
> > in general.  However, addresses such as postmaster, webmaster,
> > hostmaster, abuse, support, etc, are not in use on our system, so you
> > could block mail from them because any use of those addresses would be
> > a forgery.
> >
> > You can see a sample SpamCop complaint here:
> > http://spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/338.html
> >
> > You can read the latest about the forgery here:
> > http://spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/124.html
> >
> >
> > - Don -

The original message in this thread appears to have originated with 

Host name: BA011218.user.veloxzone.com.br
IP address: 200.164.11.218
Alias(es): None

Which sure isn't spamcop!  And judging by the number of spams coming
from Brazil these days, the idea that it's a revenge spam makes perfect
sense.

Stuart



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list