[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Beware: superfluous links.

Spambo rmu93awSPAMB02 at sneakemail.com
Wed Apr 14 17:26:44 EDT 2004


Gordon Hudson wrote:

> "Dan Ric|-.ter" <dan at w-i-m-b-a-RemoveAllHyphens.com> wrote in message
> news:c5j3vs$bmp$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> 
>>I got a spam today that included the following at the end:
>>
>>    <a href=http://first.example.com>~</a>
>>    <a href=http://second.example.com>`</a>
>>    etc.
>>
>>(Of course, in the spam they were innocent sites, not example.com
> 
> domains.)
> 
>>These were included with the explicit goal of fooling SpamCop. SpamCop
>>will not parse empty <A> tags, so the spammer included a little text
> 
> inside.
> 
>>Be careful! Don't LART innocent domains!
> 
> 
> This is becoming a considerable problem for ISP's and I almost posted a
> similar message to yours
> yesterday.
> We are starting to get false reports caused by this and its very difficult
> and time consuming to deal with them all in such a way as to prevent our
> mail servers being blacklisted.
> We could easily start looking like a spam friendly provider if we don't
> follow up each report
> (and they come from other sources, not just spamcop).

IPs belonging to spamvertised URLs *DO NOT* generate listings on
the SCBL.  The SCBL contains only IPs identified as being the
source (origination point) of the spam emails.


-- 
Just a SpamCop newsgroup participant, not an admin or employee of
SpamCop or related domains.



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list