[SpamCop-List]
Re: Child Porno Site is BAAACK (same guys as were on Level3)
Glenn Daniels
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Sun Aug 1 07:59:12 EDT 2004
"David Butler" wrote in message
> "Glenn Daniels" wrote in message
> > "David Butler" wrote in message
> > >
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z577772972z82dfd4df5c6092fb60a19f48506b9e3fz
> > >
> > > Ughh, same sickos as last time, new hosting? (Was on Level3 last time)
> > >
> > > " We created the hardlolitaa siite and tthhe PURRE CHILD POORNOO si=
> > > te."
> > >
> > > Mike or anyone: can you tell where the content REALLY comes from?
> > >
> > > I see the billing is hosted by Wannapoo.es
> > >
> > > I have manually reported to all involved ISPs I can determine. Looks
> like
> > it
> > > may route through Bra.net space but abuse at bora.net is full and
bouncing,
> > > what a surprise!
> > >
> >
> > David:
> > Mike covered this one for me in .help, "Subject:" to send
> > or not to send. FWIW, I posted same spamitem to
> > spammail at attglobal.net and they had the spamitem blocked
> > the next day (by blocked I mean filter in place, spamitem
> > tagged <<POTENTIAL-SPAM>> for users of their
> > Brightmail filters. So I'm clear in my mind that the ISP
> > (in Russia) is aware of what is going on, but the spamforge
> > is in China, and I have my doubts whether there is anyone
> > who will assume responsibilty for shutting it down. I keep
> > getting a wierd sense that the whole setup is financed from
> > our end with taxpayer dollars as pedophile bait. I said
> > at the time that given the whole thing to play back again
> > the one thing I would have done differently would have
> > been to post Interpol along with everyone else. At least
> > if one is with attglobal.net, seeing the thing is a personal
> > decision. If the client enables Brightmail filtering, it does
> > not necessarily ever leave the mailserver. It gave me
> > a really ugly feeling - read the thread in .help....
> >
>
> What is the subject on yours?
>
David:
I posted the tracker to mine in .help. Seeing that line,
"We created the hardlolitaa siite and tthhe PURRE CHILD POORNOO site", I
remembered that as the first line of
the one I received, thought you were seeing same spamitem.
The "Subject:" header on mine read "PURE CHILD PORNO."
(without the quotes). I see now that your spamitem, but for
that "lead line", is an altogether different boilerplate. Although
the text of the message was basically same as yours, I was
being asked to respond to an email address if I had interest.
Mine did not have the html and links. I sent a seriously complaining
post to the ISP for the email addys, citing the seriousness
of all the alleged crimes they were claiming, requesting that
they investigate, etc. But I've heard nothing back on the matter.
It really raised my hackles, but it seems the further I put it
behind me the more I am convinced that it was pedophile
bait, bought and paid for with your taxpayer dollars.
Not likely something most people want to see, especially
when we are probably footing the bill for it. But my lawyer
Wife shakes her head, owning that it is we who have agreed
to make these "sting" operations legal, so I would not
predict that you will be able to do much about it, loathesome
as it is. It seems to me that you did just about everything that
could be done about it, certainly more than I did. But I'm
afraid the only prosecutions that are likely to result will
be of those who take the bait. Much as I have a
problem with what they are up to, it may just as easily
be "all nice and legal", but wrong none-the-less.
Glenn
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list