[SpamCop-List]
Re: 123-reg.co.uk, hosteurope.com, webfusion.co.uk is Blackhat
Sean W
nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Mon Aug 9 03:47:42 EDT 2004
Robert Slade wrote:
> In other words, 123-reg.co.uk, hosteurope.com, webfusion.co.uk are not
> blackhat, merely doing what they are supposed to do.
>
[Nearly missed this one]
HostEurope/123reg.
202 sightings:
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&newwindow=1&safe=off&c2coff=1&q=hosteurope.com&btnG=Search&meta=group%3Dnews.admin.net-abuse.sightings
http://tinyurl.com/49vn5
I got spammed about Pipex taking over hosteurope, even though I had no
relationship with either.
I was a (do not email me) registered member of 123's website but not a
'customer' nor had I agreed to receiving email (and had my account
preferences set accordingly).
I kindly informed them that not only had they bought a known spamhaus
but a tainted list and asked why they thought they had the right to spam me.
No response to most of the questions.
A support person replied:
"Thank you for your email, upon investigation it appears that you have
an account with www.123-reg.co.uk which is a HostEurope company. I have
removed your email address from the list, if you receive anymore please
let us know. We do not use opt in mail lists and as a hosting company
understand all to well the implications of UCE. I apologise for any
inconvenience this may have caused."
^^^ Note 'we do not use opt in email lists' (in other words the UCE I
received was spam and they didn't dispute).
Says a lot in itself.
Does anyone else view the above quoted paragraph the same way as I?
Remember this spam was received 26/06/04 (well past the UK opt in spam
laws/limp lettuce leaf start period).
They removed my name from their list, but they do not use opt in emails
lists....
123reg - sightings 473:
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&newwindow=1&safe=off&c2coff=1&q=123-reg.co.uk&btnG=Search&meta=group%3Dnews.admin.net-abuse.sightings
http://tinyurl.com/5sxof
I checked my account status, didn't have a checkbox for 'takeover spam',
but did have 'no email' which was checked.
Uh, if it smells like spam and talks like spam....
--
Sean
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list