[SpamCop-List] Re: Fake NDR contains false headers in "bounced" msg
John E. Malmberg
wb8tyw at qsl.network
Sun Aug 15 20:49:48 EDT 2004
Don Wannit wrote:
> Found in my held mail on SC:
>
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z605247903zd22b1637ec0dd24d38a5b7004e39126cz
Unfortuanately more information than is present in the tracker is needed
to confirm your diagnosis.
> In this forgery, the spammer put in the IP and name of our primary MX.
> The only problem is that that particular machine has been out of service
> for the weekend. Oops! Bad timing...
It can take a week for a bounce message to make it back, so it is still
with in the timing window to be a response to a real message.
> The moral of the story: spam addresses and related data can go stale.
> Observe the "Best when enjoyed by __" date :-)
>
> The real moral of the story: don't trust the contents of a bouncy-gram.
> It's just as easily faked as the From: address. More easily, in fact.
There is at least one spammer that was seen generating such fake
headers. A few months ago there was a thread on the web thingy, where
the OEM Software spammers, which are apparently the ones being discussed
in the thread "Still not parsing correctly."
They were spamming through an open proxy, and putting fake headers below
it to make it look like the open proxy was an open relay that accepted
the spam from a real mail server. The spamcop.net parser was fixed to
catch this forgery, and that is one of the reasons for the mail hosts.
There is a spamhaus.org reference to that I mentioned in the other thread.
http://www.spamhaus.org/SBL/sbl.lasso?query=SBL18652
22.222.48.0/24 is listed on the Spamhaus Block List (SBL)
14-Aug-2004 18:03 GMT | SR14
holdtiff.com (Malena Management) / ITCT World Trade Company
Persistently spamming by "forge-attacking" anti-spam activist
domains in the 'From:' message-envelopes.
-John
wb8tyw at qsl.network
Personal Opinion Only
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list