[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: RFC Ignorant

Sean W nobody at devnull.spamcop.net
Mon Aug 16 21:53:00 EDT 2004


Paul Johnson wrote:

> "Robert Slade" <nobody at devnull.spamcop.net> writes:
> 
> 
>>>I have complained to rfc-ignorant regarding their listing .co.uk as rfc 
>>>ignorant as this is the uk tld and is not routable. Their reply:- "It is 
>>>listed in conformance with our listing criteria." suggests that their 
>>>criteria is not right.
> 
> 
> Complain to whoever is in charge of .uk's whois.  They made a decision
> that does violate the RFCs for everybody in .uk territory.

No point really,  Nominet appear to have far too much arrogance to abide 
by ICANN policies.
The problem lies in their 'consumer/individual opt out mechanism'.

Section 6 on 
http://www.nic.uk/ReferenceDocuments/TermsAndConditions/TermsAndConditions.html

Example (LART sent 30/7)

WHOIS Data for the relevant domain names:

whois -h whois.nic.uk top-uk.co.uk ...

     Domain Name:
         top-uk.co.uk

     Registrant:
         Morgan Group Incorporated

     Registrant's Address:

         THE REGISTRANT IS AN INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS ELECTED TO
         HAVE THEIR ADDRESS OMITTED FROM THE WHOIS DATABASE

As you can see that's just plain stupid.  "Morgan Group Incorporated" = 
"THE REGISTRANT IS AN INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS  ELECTED TO HAVE THEIR ADDRESS 
OMITTED FROM THE WHOIS DATABASE"

As an aside:
LARTS sometimes work if you reach the right person 
(Nicola[dot]Coope[at]nominet.org.uk is one) avoid mentioning spam as 
you're liable to be informed you should contact your local trading 
standards office (yes I see the blank looks :-p)
So far of the numerous WHOIS reports I've seen two corrected, one with 
data (now) suggesting that Irish company Centurynames is based in Hong 
Kong and the other was http://www.spam-stop.co.uk/ , both were 
'individuals' apparently.

-- 
Sean


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list