[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] No source IP address found

Alan Harper aharper at dnai.com
Sun Aug 22 08:48:24 EDT 2004


I am getting spam sent to an email address that is (currently) not
being filtered by Spamcop.

When submitted to spamcop parsing, I get the following:

>  This page may be saved for future reference:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z618862738z88d155bf50108488854c73b0ceec2dc4
> z
> 0: Received: from 207.115.63.35 (EHLO yipvmh.prodigy.net)
> (207.115.63.35) by mta821.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 20 Aug
> 2004 19:50:23 -0700
>  Hostname verified: yipvmh-ext.prodigy.net
> 
> Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of
> your mailhosts
>  Will not trust anything beyond this header
> 
> No source IP address found, cannot proceed.
> Add/edit your mailhost configuration
>  Finding full email headers
>  Submitting spam via email (may work better)
>  Example: What spam headers should look like
> 
> Nothing to do.

The headers start with these lines:

> X-Apparently-To: me at sbcglobal.net via 206.190.37.147; Fri, 20
> Aug 2004 19:50:24 -0700
> X-YahooFilteredBulk: 61.249.32.101
> X-Originating-IP: [61.249.32.101]
> Return-Path: <apfysogdynh at hotmail.com>
> Received: from 207.115.63.35  (EHLO yipvmh.prodigy.net) (207.115.63.35)
>   by mta821.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 20 Aug 2004 19:50:23
> -0700
> X-Header-Overseas: Mail.from.Overseas.source.61.249.32.101
> X-Header-NoReverseIP: IP.name.lookup.failed[61.249.32.101]
> X-Originating-IP: [61.249.32.101]
> Received: from 207.115.63.75 ([61.249.32.101])
>  by yipvmh.prodigy.net (8.12.10 shim/8.12.10) with SMTP id
> i7L2oBhk606536;
>  Fri, 20 Aug 2004 22:50:13 -0400
> Message-Id: <200408210250.i7L2oBhk606536 at yipvmh.prodigy.net>
> X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
> X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000

I am confused because the first Received line has an IP and a name that
don't appear to correspond to each other. Can Received lines now be
forged? Or is SBC/Yahoo somehow munging the headers in some misguided
fashion?

A


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list