[SpamCop-List] Re: SPF = too many hoops for spamcop mail
Mike Easter
MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Aug 26 17:38:21 EDT 2004
Tim McGraw wrote:
> mail.powweb.com rejected a message claiming to be from
> <munged>@reports.spamcop.net.
>
> mail.powweb.com saw a message coming from the IP address
> 216.154.195.49 which is c60.cesmail.net; the sender claimed to be
> <munged>@reports.spamcop.net.
>
> However, reports.spamcop.net has announced using SPF that it does not
> send mail out through 216.154.195.49.
To the best of my limited ability to look it up, I think powweb is
correct, that the spf lookup of reports.spamcop.net against
216.154.195.49 will fail.
The spf record for spamcop.net is 'v=spf1 a -all" but I don't know how
the process is supposed to handle reports.spamcop.net which doesn't
resolve but uses spamcop MXes.
Or, to say it another way, reports.spamcop.net doesn't have an A record,
which is what the spf is based.
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list