[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: AOL: Client TOS Notification

Gordon Hudson gordon at usenet2.hostroute.co.uk
Sat Dec 11 14:52:46 EST 2004


"Gordon Hudson" <gordon at usenet2.hostroute.co.uk> wrote in message 
news:cpf171$cj1$1 at news.spamcop.net...
>
> "Pete Stephenson" <pete+usenet at heypete.com> wrote in message 
> news:pete+usenet-C904DF.04030411122004 at news.cesmail.net...
>> In article <cpel0a$4vd$1 at news.spamcop.net>,
>> "Gordon Hudson" <gordon at usenet2.hostroute.co.uk> wrote:
>>
>>> It is the address which is the admin contact for the domain our server 
>>> host
>>> names are based on.
>>
>> Do you have a contact address listed with http://www.abuse.net/ for your
>> domain(s)?
>
> Yes.
> AOL are using the admin email address for the domain the Ip reolves to.
> I have now received a batch of 30 for an incident in mid November.
>
> This is basically spam as all it is the original spam attached to an empty 
> email with no explanation of why it is being sent to us.
> I am probably just going to block AOL's IP's at our mail serve ror further 
> back at the routers.
>
>
>
>> Not so. There are some, but if you have up-to-date versions of PHP and
>> appropriate protective measures in place the problems can be repaired.
>> There are tens of thousands of web hosts out there that support PHP, and
>> a tiny, tiny fraction of the spam I receive is sent from them.
>>
>> Keep your systems patched, up-to-date, and as secure as you can make
>> them and the problem will all but disappear.
>
>
> Nope, wont work.
> Customer signs up with stolen card.
> uses the mail() function to send spam.
> We find him, but in the 2 hours ince he has flooded us with spam.
>
> We could disable the mail() function but would lose all our customers.
>
> All of those hosts you quote will have exactly the same problem.


Let me clarify.

I think AOL are mailbombing me to try and put pressur eon me to stop 
spammers.
It certainly vomes across liek that and I am treating it as an abuse issue.
Certainly the messages are of no value.

Here is a header from the latest reported spam:

Received: from karcam11 by server2.dedicateduk.com with local (Exim 4.43)
 id 1CXBrR-0002H6-LH; Thu, 25 Nov 2004 05:08:05 +0000


25th November?

Get real.
That has no value as a spam report.
That issue was reolved within a couple of hours of the event.
Its just a mail bombing.

If I did that to AOL they would report me to my ISP.





More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list