[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Hotmail spam with non-hotmail return paths

Scott Jordan noemail at foo.bar
Wed Dec 15 08:11:40 EST 2004


Does anyone have any experience with hotmail server spam which does not
have a @hotmail.com address in the return path? An example header from
several months ago is:

Return-Path: <peterwhite at fsbinternationalbankplc.net> Received: from
hotmail.com (bay23-f10.bay23.hotmail.com [64.4.22.60])
    by
    for
Received: from mail pickup service by hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
     Sat, 11 Sep 2004 18:24:52 -0700
Received: from 80.179.243.2 by by23fd.bay23.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;
    Sun, 12 Sep 2004 01:24:51 GMT
X-Originating-IP: [80.179.243.2]
X-Originating-Email: [peterwhite at fsbinternationalbankplc.net] X-Sender:
peterwhite at fsbinternationalbankplc.net Reply-To:
princeyobo2002 at yahoo.co.in
From: "Prince Yobo" <peterwhite at fsbinternationalbankplc.net> To:
peterwhite at fsbinternationalbankplc.net Subject: confidential
Date: Sun, 12 Sep 2004 02:24:51 +0100 Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed Message-ID:
<BAY23-F10Z1i6bdVJWr00029953 at hotmail.com> X-OriginalArrivalTime: 12 Sep
2004 01:24:52.0064 (UTC) FILETIME=[4D638E00:01C49867]


Hotmail tries to dodge it because it doesn't show a hotmail user as the
originator. It's clearly coming from their servers. Moreover, the spammer
domain shows that MSN is managing the dns:

   Domain Name: FSBINTERNATIONALBANKPLC.NET Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD.
   D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
   Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com Name Server: PDOMNS1.MSN.COM
   Name Server: PDOMNS2.MSN.COM
   Status: ACTIVE
   Updated Date: 09-jul-2004
   Creation Date: 09-jul-2004
   Expiration Date: 09-jul-2005


Does anyone know what the story on these are? We've seen quite a few.

Does anyone know what it takes to get hotmail/msn to address these?

Thanks,
ScottJ


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list