[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: divulging spammer customer info to spamhaus

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Thu Dec 16 07:12:27 EST 2004


JHT4 wrote:
>> 216.176.166.214  mail.advertisnet.com  old 2002 listing at dsbl for
>> open smtp relay, as output for input 216.176.166.99 - that should be
>> taken down at http://dsbl.org/removalquery    216.176.166.99 is on
>> some other lists because of that old relaying.
>
> Dont understand that 'output for input' part, I think .99 was a ded
> customer ip block from a long time ago, not in use now. requested
> delisting for .214 and .99 even though I dont care about .99

By 'output for input' I meant that back in 2002, one could smtp transact
with .99 and it would accept the mail for relaying and the item would go
out the .214.  And there's evidence for that.  Nowadays there isn't an
smtp server or port 25 at .99, or there wasn't when I checked.  Even if
you don't care about .99, if some spamhaus worker looks around and sees
various IPs listed in various places, it makes you look like a gray hat
or an 'incompetent' antispam provider.

>> 216.176.166.210  smtp.advertisnet.com  wsff
>> http://dynamic.rfc1149.net/wsff.phtml
>
> Dont see anyway to delist from this one.

One of the problems with getting on lists is that some lists are very
hard to get off of.  They aren't automatic for delisting and they don't
allow the individual to just delist themselves.  The more lists you get
onto, the more trouble you are going to have getting off of them;  and
some people use other lists to make their own lists.  The moral of that
story is to follow as many guidelines as possible to avoid spam coming
from your IPs so as to avoid getting listed in the first place.

-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list