[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: Hotmail spam with non-hotmail return paths

Neil Rickert rickert+nn at cs.niu.edu
Sun Dec 19 02:09:37 EST 2004


-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

On 2004-12-15, Scott Jordan <noemail at foo.bar> wrote:

> Does anyone have any experience with hotmail server spam which does not
> have a @hotmail.com address in the return path? An example header from
> several months ago is:

I block all such mail.  If the sender address is not hotmail or msn,
and it comes from a hotmail server, it is rejected with the response

	550 Hotmail rejects abuse reports

> Hotmail tries to dodge it because it doesn't show a hotmail user as the
> originator. It's clearly coming from their servers. Moreover, the spammer
> domain shows that MSN is managing the dns:

I got rather tired of having my reports rejected by hotmail.

As best I can tell, Microsoft is selling vanity email domains, and
then refusing to accept any responsibility.


-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.3.91 (SunOS)

iD4DBQFBxOLfvmGe70vHPUMRAtAWAKC7fWpdXDWLiCzzxqN0rUyF3HZa7wCXaKwj
fKQHCyjRBCUdRMdVGNXZLw==
=z86P
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----


More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list