[SpamCop-List] Re: AOL Bounces?
David 1
David1 at suescornerweb.com
Mon Dec 20 14:44:27 EST 2004
Dar wrote:
>>>No, not compromised. We go to great lengths to keep our form mail from
>>>being used by spammers and I'd no instantly if the attempt was being
>>>made. This was a valid form mail inquiry from a real person.
>>>
>>>
>>
>>No, what I meant was, if it had been compromised at some other time which
>>was *not* "a valid form mail inquiry from a real person" but a spam spew,
>>and consequently got your Mx blocked, that would explain this issue you're
>>currently experiencing.
>
>
> Sorry - no. And the error message was specific about something in the
> message body causing the bounce. And I just fill out the form myself,
> as a test, and all went through as it should. Looks like it was a
> fluke/coincidence after all. Halliburton techies are working on their
> own problem.
>
> Thanks, all.
>
> Dar
>
>
I don't know if this relates or not but just picked it up from the SC
mail news:
Nov 8, 2004
* [14:37 EST] In good news, we believe we have fixed the problem
with fetching mail from AOL accounts. We have started doing this and all
AOL accounts should start retrieving mail within the next several hours.
* [14:36 EST] We have been experiencing sporadic problems with our
DNS provider for the last day or so. While all our testing looks OK,
there is quite a bit of evidence that suggests they are returning wrong
or no information at times. We have opened a ticket with them and, in
the meantime, have eliminated any need for DNS for some internal mail
handoffs which should get rid of most of the problem. We haven't made
any DNS changes in weeks and the DNS provider has been very reliable for
a year or more, so we hope we can get to the bottom of this quickly. We
apologize for the inconvenience.
Nov 6, 2004
* [22:50 EST] Recently, AOL started blocking the method that we use
to retrieve email from them. We're working on a solution, but if AOL is
intentionally blocking us, it's possible that we won't be able to
restore fetching mail from AOL addresses.
--
David 1
bad addy
spamtrap at suescornerweb.com
More information about the SpamCop-List
mailing list