[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: paypal abuses no address

Mike Easter MikeE at ster.invalid
Sun Dec 26 08:30:45 EST 2004


ken wrote:
> "Mike Easter"
>>> "RW"
>>
>>>> The one report that I just looked at,
>> spamcop.net/sc?id=z705929602z9cc12de31c19e70d8e1618ca3dddad00z
>>>> is a _real_ email from Paypal

>> I believe the intended recipient is a paypal client and the item
>> shouldn't have been reported as a spam or as a violation of the
>> bonded sender BSP or TrustE certification.
>> http://www.senderbase.org/search?searchString=64.4.240.67

> I don't have accounts with either of them capable of generating such a
> stupid email.
> In this case just because it looks like a duck, doesn't make it a
> duck. It's a CON plain and simple. And it's up to paypal to take and
> see this as what it really is.

Is the item which Richard posted the tracker for an item which was
emailed to you?

In the body it sez "Dear Wendy McIlvride, Your credit card ending in
3925 will expire soon." and was received by a speedband.com server.

It is sourced from paypal, it is not a phish.

If you /did/ receive it at/from/with a speedband.com server, then I
would say there must be some kind of paypal mistake.  If you /didn't/
receive it, the fact that Richard posted it into this thread is causing
some confusion.  You are currently posting from a level3 IP.

I'm addressing my remarks toward the item which Richard posted the
tracker for.


-- 
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list