[SpamCop.net - protecting the internet through technology]

[SpamCop-List] Re: centralized white list

Bo Briggs spamcop001 at bellsouth.net
Sat Feb 21 09:44:29 EST 2004


Jay wrote:

> "Bo Briggs" <spamcop001 at bellsouth.net> wrote in message
> news:c0qguh$1oc$1 at news.spamcop.net...
> 
>>Jay wrote:
>>
>>>Ive often wondered why there isnt an organization
>>>set up on the net to maintain a 'white list' of valid
>>>mail servers on the net.
>>>
>>
>>It has been tried before. See:
>>http://www.the-carrot-and-the-stick.com/Best_Practices/FAQ/
> 
> 
> ok, looks good, why shouldnt I sign up for it?
> 
> Will they sell my mail servers ips to their
> bulk mailer customers? Their rules for bulk
> mailers opt in programs looks like ok'ing 'soft spam' to me.
> 
> 
Pretty sure that it's owned by some regulars on NANAE. I doubt that it would 
be soft. You might get some input there.

> 
>>The problem is getting everyone to agree. Implementation would be very
>>difficult for everyone involved. Other problems are the same as with the
>>dnsbl's. Who do you trust?
> 
> 
> That was another Q I had for them, who do they have
> participating?
> 
> 

Well, I can't speak for them. But if you are looking at whitelists, maybe I 
should suggest a couple of others:

http://www.habeas.com/
Has been abused lately.

http://www.bondedsender.org/
Note that when the spamcop parser runs, it does check bondedsender.org

The biggest problem, again, is participation. And I don't know the numbers.

-- 
Bo Briggs



More information about the SpamCop-List mailing list